Research Databases

Some research databases require a valid library card for access. If you do not have a Rodman Library card, you can apply online for an eCard for access to these databases.

about:books about:books

Information on books and authors.

Use this resource

Academic Search Premiere screenshot Academic Search Premiere

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Use this resource

AHFS Consumer Medication Information screenshot AHFS Consumer Medication Information

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

Use this resource

Alliance Index screenshot Alliance Index

Search the Alliance Index for obituary, marriage, and newspaper article citations from The Alliance Review.

Use this resource

Alliance Memory Project screenshot Alliance Memory Project

Featuring sights, sounds, and recollections of the Alliance community, Alliance Memory offers over 3,000 images, interviews, and documents

Use this resource

Alt HealthWatch screenshot Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.  Featuring full text articles, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.  

Use this resource

American English & Literature screenshot American English & Literature

Electronic books of American and English literature - poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible.

Use this resource

Ancestry Complete screenshot Ancestry Library Edition

One of the most comprehensive genealogy databases available. This database is NOT available for home access. Please come to the Main Library or Branch for access.

Use this resource

ArtistWorks screenshot ArtistWorks

​ArtistWorks connects you with world-class musical instruction from Grammy Award-winning music and artistic professionals.  This service uses self-paced video lessons to teach a variety of topics like banjo, guitar, scratching, art, and many more.  Course levels offered go from beginner to advanced.  All courses are free of charge.

Use this resource

AtoZ databases screenshot AtoZ Databases

AtoZ Databases contains financial information on over 30 million U.S. businesses & executives as well as addresses and phone numbers of over 220 million U.S. residents.  This service can be used to do reverse phone lookups as well as basic background searches.

Use this resource

Auto Repair Reference Center screenshot Auto Repair Reference Center

This database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content has been created by ASE certified technicians.Coverage includes more than 37,000 vehicles from 1945 to present.

Use this resource

Biography Reference Bank screenshot Biography Refernce Bank

H. W. Wilson's collection of 95,000+ biographies from over 50 reference titles, thousands of biographical magazine articles, and over 20,000 printable images. Search by name, profession, ethnic background, place of birth, and more.

Use this resource

Business Source Premier Business Source

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.  Business Source Premier covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics with full text articles. 

Use this resource

Children's Core Collection screenshot Children's Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)

A guide to the best fiction books, nonfiction books, graphic novels, magazines, and more for school aged children.  

Use this resource

Chilton Online Auto Repair Mannuals screenshot Chilton Online Auto Repair Mannual

ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.

Use this resource

Comptuer Source screen shot Computer Source

Grants access to the digital copy of the Cleveland Plain Dealer. Only for access from within Rodman Public Library's Main or Branch locations.

Use this resource

Consumer Health Complete Screenshot Consumer Health Complete

This database offers full text journals, magazines, and reference books dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition. This resource allows you to browse medical, health-related,and drug reference books, read articles on health and fitness, and find sources for alternative health information.

Use this resource

Consumer Reports Screenshot Consumer Reports

The same great resource users have come to expect from Consumer Reports, at the touch of your fingertips.  With a click of your mouse you can views 1000's of product reviews from the country's #1 rated review source.  Be sure to shop with confidence. 

Use this resource

Core Collection Complete screenshot Core Collection Complete

A guide to the best fiction books, nonfiction books, graphic novels, magazines, and more.  Core Collection Complete is for users of all ages.  This resource combines all the valuable resources of the H.W. Wilson collection in one, easy to search database. 

Use this resource

eBook Collection screenshot eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Search and view the full text of eBooks.

Use this resource

Elephind screenshot Elephind

Searchable database of the world's historic newspapers.

Use this resource

Encyclopedia Titanica screenshot Encyclopedia Titanica

Great source for Titanic facts, history, and biographies

Use this resource

ERIC screenshot ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Use this resource

Explora Primary Schools screenshoot Explora Primary Schools (K-5)

Explora provides easy-to-use features that link you to a variety of content from the world leaders in magazines and reference materials. The content provided covers thousands of topics such as animals, biographies, business, government, current issues, geography, history, science, and math just to name a few.

Use this resource

Explora Public Libraries Screenshot Explora Public Libraries

Explora provides easy-to-use features that link you to a variety of content from the world leaders in magazines and reference materials. The content provided covers thousands of topics such as animals, biographies, business, government, current issues, geography, history, science, and math just to name a few.

Use this resource

Explora Secondary Schools (6-12) screenshot Explora Secondary Schools (6-12)

Explora provides easy-to-use features that link you to a variety of content from the world leaders in magazines and reference materials. The content provided covers thousands of topics such as animals, biographies, business, government, current issues, geography, history, science, and math just to name a few.

Use this resource

Family Search Screenshot Family Search

Search for your ancestors using millions of online records

Use this resource

Fiction Core Collection screenshot Fiction Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)

Your guide to the best fiction materials out there.

Use this resource

Forties in America screenshot Forties in America

This eBook covers pop culture, historical events, and politics of the 1940's.

Use this resource

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia screenshot Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Use this resource

Gale Courses screenshot Gale Courses

Gale Courses offers interactive, instructor-led courses that can be taken entirely online to support lifelong learning and continuing education. This program is free, with unlimited usage to library patrons and includes courses on Computer and Technical, Careers and Professional, Writing and Publishing, and Personal Development.

Use this resource

Gale Legal Forms screenshot Gale Legal Forms

Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Use this resource

Gale Virtual Reference screenshot Gale Virtual Reference Library

Thousands of trusted, authoritative reference eBooks on virtually any subject are available 24/7.

Use this resource

Global Road Warrior screenshot Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior is a resource that connects you to the information about countries all over the world.  You can access this database to research customs procedures, general historical information, sites to view, word and phrase pronunciations, and much more.

Use this resource

GreenFILE screenshot GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Use this resource

Health Source: Consumer Edition screenshot Health Source: Consumer Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Use this resource

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition screenshot Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Use this resource

HeritageQuest Online screenshot HeritageQuest Online

This database offers access to Census images, Revolutionary War records, genealogy books, and more. Rodman Library card required for home access.

Use this resource

Learning Express Library screenshot Learning Express Library

LearningExpress Library provides users access to materials to prepare for a variety of student and career based testing.  Create a free login to get yourself ready for things like SAT, ACT, or a variety of job based testing.  With helpful videos to get you started and to help you get the most of this service.

Use this resource

LearningExpress Workforce Skills for the 21st Century screenshot LearningExpress Workforce Skills for the 21st Century

Provides you with a place to go to practice or learn new skills to help you find a job or enhance your current career.

Use this resource

Literary Reference Center Literary Reference Center

Find full text articles from literary journals and respected literary reference works containing plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories. You may research an author, novel, or poem for school or personal interest, or learn more about a literary movement for book discussions.

Use this resource

MAS Ultra - School Edition screenshot MAS Ultra - School Edition

Contains full text articles for popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas.

Use this resource

MasterFILE Premier screenshot MasterFILE Premier

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.

Use this resource

MEDLINE screenshot MEDLINE

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Use this resource

Middle and Junior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) screenshot Middle and Junior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)

A guide to the best fiction books, nonfiction books, graphic novels, magazines for Middle and Junior High students.

Use this resource

Middle Search Plus screenshot Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. 

Use this resource

National Geographic screenshot National Geographic

Search and browse all the issues of National Geographic Magazine from its very first issue in 1888 through 1994.

Use this resource

NoveList K8Plus screenshot NoveList K-8 Plus

The same great resources found with NoveList, but with a targeted audience in mind. 

Use this resource

NoveList Plus screenshot NoveList Plus

Tired of reading the same authors? Looking for something similar to your favorite author or something new in your favorite genre? Try NoveList Plus and find something new to read.

Use this resource

Ohio Death Certificate Index (1913-1944) Ohio Death Certificate Index

Index of Ohio Death Records for certain time periods.

Use this resource

Ohio Digital Library screenshot Ohio Digital Library

Thousands of eBooks on a variety of topics from many favorite authors.  All materials are available for checkout with a Rodman Library card

Use this resource

Ohio Driver Education screenshot Ohio Driver Education

This resource provides free practice tests for the written portion of Ohio Department of Transportation's various driving exams.

Use this resource

Ohio Web Library Ohio Web Library

A variety of online research databases provided to all Ohio residents 

Use this resource

OnePlay screenshot OnePlay

Provides 100's of free-to-play games that you can download to your computer for at home use.

Use this resource

Points of View screenshot Points of View

This database contains many topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints using political magazines, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

Use this resource

Primary Search Screenshot Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Use this resource

Professional Development Collection Screenshot Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Use this resource

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection screenshot Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.  Offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals

Use this resource

Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction (HW Wilson) screenshot Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction (HW Wilson)

A guide to the best nonfiction books for general library patrons. 

Use this resource

Reference USA screenshot Reference USA

ReferenceUSA provides quality information to help you: Search for jobs, location, and industry, find new business opportunities, research executives and companies worldwide, track down addresses and phone numbers, find news articles for research, locate out-of-town companies, or profile a neighborhood, city or state.

Use this resource

Regional Business News screenshot Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Use this resource

Religion and Philosophy Collection screenshot Religion and Philosophy Collection

Religion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. 

Use this resource

Salem Health : Magill's Medical Guide & Cancer screenshot Salem Health : Magill's Medical Guide & Cancer

A perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. Search both Salem Health titles from this link or specify Magill's Medical Guide or the Cancer guide from the home page of the site.

Use this resource

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps screenshot Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Sanborn Historic Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970.

Use this resource

Science Online screenshot Science Online

Science Online offers full text articles, videos, diagrams, tables, and much on major branches of Science.

Use this resource

Science Reference Center screenshot Science Reference Center

Topics covered in this resource include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, 

Use this resource

Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) screenshot Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)

A guide to the best fiction books, graphic novels, magazines, and more for High School aged students.

Use this resource

Small Engine Repair Reference Center screenshot Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Information and diagnostics on how to repair small engines including snowmobiles, lawn mowers, ATVs, motorcycles, tractors, and more.

Use this resource

Sociological Collection screenshot Sociological Collection

This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Use this resource

St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery Burials screenshot St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery Burials

Use this form to search for individuals of the Catholic faith who were buried in St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery in Alliance, Ohio from 1900 to present. Also included in the database are those individuals who had Catholic funeral services in Alliance, were buried elsewhere, or were cremated.

Use this resource

TOPICsearch screenshot TOPICsearch

TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information

Use this resource

Transparent Language Online

Learn to read, speak, and write over 100 different languages.  Transparent Language Online uses self-paced lessons and games to teach language in a fun, low stress way. 

Use this resource

Vocational and Career Collection screenshot Vocational and Career Collection

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Use this resource

What Tree is it? Ohio Tree Identification screenshot What Tree is it? Ohio Tree Identification

This resource will help to identify Ohio trees by leaf, fruit, or by name.

Use this resource

What’s that Snake? Ohio Snake Identification screenshot What’s that Snake? Ohio Snake Identification

Use this resource to identify Ohio snakes based on characteristics or by name.  This resource also helps to dispel many snake related myths.   

Use this resource

What’s the Point? Ohio Arrowhead Identification What’s the Point? Ohio Arrowhead Identification

Identify flint artifacts, found in Ohio, using this resource.

Use this resource

World Book screenshot World Book

Allows you to pick the type of encyclopedia that relates to the content you are researching.

Use this resource

World Book Academic screenshot World Book Academic

Encyclopedia geared towards college students

Use this resource

World Book Early World of Learning screenshot World Book Early World of Learning

This encyclopedia uses games, fun facts, art, and traditional reading to cater to the youngest group of users.

Use this resource

World Book Kids screenshot World Book Kids

Encyclopedic information with the school-aged children in mind.

Use this resource

World Book Spanish World Book Spanish

An encyclopedia for Spanish speaking patrons.

Use this resource

Zinio screenshot Zinio

Access 100's of magazines digitally from your own device.

Use this resource