Loading
(?) (?)

Teen Programs

Madden Tournament

Date: 
Thu, 09/11/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Teens, for intense one-on-one, head-to-head competition, join us on Thursday, Sept. 11, from  3:00-5:00 p.m., in Rodman’s Main Auditorium for an exciting afternoon with Madden 15 that will be played on an Xbox gaming system with the game setting on Pro. The tournament will consist of single elimination, three minute quarters and random teams, excluding All-Star teams and Throwbacks. Prizes will be awarded to the top two finalists.

Creative Craft Tuesday

Date: 
Tue, 09/16/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Join us on Tuesday, Sept. 16, at 3 p.m., as we demonstrate Kumihimo and Zentangle. Kumihimo is a braiding technique for making long decorative strands that will be used to make washer necklaces and bracelets. Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns. Teens can use their imagination and creativity for both projects. Materials are provided. No registration is needed. For more information, call 330-821-2665, ext. 214.

DJ 09/16/14

Teen Movie Night

Date: 
Tue, 09/09/2014 - 5:30pm - 8:00pm

All teens, ages 13-18, are invited to see a free movie on RPL’s big screen in the auditorium on Tuesday, Sept. 9, at 5:30 p.m. After awakening after decades of suspended animation, a man volunteers for a top secret research project that turns him into a superhero. The movie is rated PG-13. No registration is needed. For more information, call 330-821-2665, ext. 214.

DJ 07/01/2014

Clay Crafts & More

Date: 
Thu, 08/28/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Join D.J., Teen Librarian, on Thursday, Aug. 28, from 3:00-5:00 p.m., in Rodman Main Auditorium as he demonstrates how to make some really cool clay jewelry. Teens will be using polymer clay to make charms that can be used as jewelry to make bracelets or necklaces. The clay will be fired using the library’s oven so teens will have their projects to take home with them. The heat of the oven will also be used to shrink used potato chip bags to make miniature versions - the bags can then be used as charms or as something fun to carry around. No registration is needed for this event.

Knock Em' Down

Date: 
Tue, 07/08/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Teens, ages 12-18, join D.J., Teen Librarian, in the main auditorium for the “Knock em’ Down” event of the summer! This event takes place on Tuesday, July 8, from 3 to 5 p.m. Three stations will be set up. At Station One, teens will make a vortex cannon out of boxes. The cannon will be filled with smoke and used to knock down special targets. Smoke is used for seeing the air being forced from the box. There will also be a demonstration of how to make a safe fog using chemicals. At Station Two, teens will make catapults out of popsicle sticks.

T-Shirt Design

Date: 
Thu, 06/05/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Teens, 12-18, are invited to use their creativity at the Design-a-T-Shirt Event on Thursday, June 5, from 3 to 5 p.m., in Rodman Main Auditorium. Teens must bring blank T-shirts to use. There will be two types of designs for the shirts. The first process will involve using cutout shapes and bleach with the design being bleached into the shirt. The second process is called Sharpie Tie-Dye. The shirt will be colored with multi-colored Sharpies. After coloring, rubbing alcohol will be used on the shirt to spread the color giving it a tie-dyed look.

RoboTech

Date: 
Mon, 06/16/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Tue, 06/17/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Wed, 06/18/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Thu, 06/19/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

All teens, ages 12-18, will learn some basic programming skills during this four day program. We will be building robots using the Lego Mindstorms kits and the “bots” will be programmed to complete certain tasks each day. Day one will include a “how to” mission explanation session and the start of building a Rover Bot. Day two will focus on making the robot run on a track. Days three and four will be the Battle of the Bots. Teens will be working in teams during the entire event to accomplish their assigned mission.

Coin Crafts

Date: 
Thu, 05/22/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Teens, 12-18, are invited to use their creativity at Rodman Library’s Coin Crafts event on Thursday, May 22, from 3:00-5:00 p.m. One old coin will be given to each teen that will be theirs to keep. The coins passed out will be in need of cleaning. A demonstration will be given showing teens how to clean the old coins using a method involving Coke & olive oil. Teens will then have the opportunity to identify their coins. Those who wish can turn their coins into jewelry. Materials will be on hand to make them into earrings, bracelets, or necklaces.

Anime Club

Date: 
Tue, 11/25/2014 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 12/30/2014 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 01/27/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 02/24/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 05/26/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 06/30/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 07/28/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 08/25/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 09/29/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 10/27/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 11/24/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Tue, 12/29/2015 - 3:30pm - 5:30pm

All teens, ages 13-18, are invited to Rodman Public Library on Tuesday, Dec. 30, from 3:30-5:30 p.m. An Anime film will be shown on RPL’s big screen. Discussion of the characters and comparison of Anime versions vs. Manga versions will follow.

The Anime Club will meet in the main auditorium of Rodman Public Library located at 215 East Broadway Street in Alliance, OH. No registration is required. For more information, call 330-821-2665, ext. 214.

DJ 03/28/2014

Teen Movie

Date: 
Tue, 06/03/2014 - 5:30pm - 8:00pm

All teens, ages 13-18, are invited to see a free movie on RPL’s big screen in the auditorium on Tuesday, June 3, at 5:30 p.m. As lava rains down from the fury of the volcano on to a magnificent city, a gladiator must fight his way out of the arena to save his beloved as the city collapses around him. The movie is rated PG-13. No registration is needed. For more information, call 330-821-2665, ext. 214.

DJ 03/28/2014

Syndicate content

My Account

My GoodReads help me find something to read

Main Library
330-821-2665
   Monday-Wednesday
   9 AM to 8:30 PM
   Thursday-Saturday
   9 AM to 5:30 PM
   Sunday
   Closed

Branch
330-821-1313
   Monday-Thursday
   9 AM to 8:30 PM
   Friday-Saturday
   9 AM to 5:30 PM
   Sunday (October through April)
   1 PM to 5 PM

Axis 360 for ebooks and audiobooks

hoopla for music, movies, television, and audiobooks

Download ebooks audio video and music

Zinio the world's largest newstand